SMF Booting and Run Levels


The old Unix run levels correspond to an FMRI according to the below table:

Run Level FMRI
S milestone/single-user:default
2 milestone/multi-user:default
3 milestone/multi-user-server:default


SMF Run-level transition commands

Both SMF and init commands can be used for run level transitions. To single-user mode:

    # svcadm milestone milestone/singe-user

Restore running services:

    # svcadm milestone all

Set default run level:

    # svcadm milestone -d milestone/multi-user-server

 Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>